hello to all and info needed

For new members to say hi to the forum if they so wish.
chris44

hello to all and info needed

Post by chris44 » June 29th, 2017, 7:30 pm

hi folks new to the forum , could you point me towards the yearly costs to have a 21ft sailing boat on the broads , insurances safety certs and tolls etc etc , much appreciated.
maybe there is a costing bit on the forum that i havent found yet

edit; could be looking for a 26ft liveaboard sailing boat , 21ft maybe a little on the poky side
im thinking about the liveaboard life full time and the broads seems like a great place to start, any advice would be appreciated, ive been learning and planning for too many years now to make the jump from house to boat , all i need now of course is the right boat .

High Seas

Re: hello to all and info needed

Post by High Seas » June 30th, 2017, 5:55 pm

Bonjour,

Third party insurance would be around £75.
Boat safety should be around £85 if I remember correctly and the Broads tolls you can get from their website but it depends on engine size but as guesstimate maybe £100 - 150.

If you add annual beer allowance then probably around ten grand mark.

chris44

Post by chris44 » June 30th, 2017, 6:36 pm

thanks for the reply and info , ten grand on beer , not so good , pleased i dont drink these days , do you have to move around constantly if your a permanent live aboard ? i know the canal ways give you a hard time over this .
heating over winter has been a troublesome problem , wood burner is my solution as all of the others seem expensive, but even the wood burners have drawbacks , the obvious one being i dont fancy cutting a hole in the deck of a a grp boat , but i reckon i can come up with a decent solution to strengthen the hole area.

High Seas

Post by High Seas » July 3rd, 2017, 1:40 pm

I felt exactly the same about making a hole through the roof and that is why I waited two years till I was 1000% certain of where it was going to go.